Archive for the ‘sachin’ Category

What BCCI does with its cash

Do you want to know the details of how the world’s richest cricket board spends its money?

Most cricket fans would want to know the details of how the world’s richest cricket board, the BCCI, spends its money. So, here are some figures that you can sit back and enjoy. (Text courtesy: Mail Today)

A peep into the Board’s latest balance sheet throws up some interesting expenditures under less-then-serious heads like telephone bills, postage and stationary charges, and the worth of the stock of cricket balls with the BCCI.

Many fans may also want to know how much winning the World Cup cost the Board. The answer is: 71.77 crore! This includes players’ fees etc.

And despite spending so much, it earned a profit of 30.29 crore from the tournament. It was possible mainly due to income from sponsorship besides the participation and hosting fee that the ICC gave to the BCCI.

According to its 2010-11 balance sheet, the BCCI spent 32.63 lakh on printing and stationary, 27.38 lakh on postage and telephone bills, 66.16 lakh on advertisement, 4.28 crore on travelling, and 3.74 crore on salaries and allowances of its staff and 30.76 lakh on seminars.

As of March 31, 2011, the Board had in its stock cricket balls worth 1.09 crore.

Inexplicably, the Board didn’t spend a single rupee on anti-doping-related issues, despite having set aside 40 lakh for the purpose.

For 2011-12, it has again budgeted 40 lakh, though it remains to be seen if this would be utilised. The BCCI spent 14.77 lakh on curators, though many of the pitches are still not up to the mark. The 90 lakh budgeted for the annual award and function expenses remained unspent.


Read Full Post »

India are World Champions!

India has beaten Sri Lanka by six wickets to win the 2011 Cricket World Cup.

Kapil Devils won the world cup in 1983. After 28 years the Indian cricket team the world cup in grand style in home country by defeating Sri Lanka at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Saturday 2 April 3, 2011.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni scored an unbeaten 91, sharing a 109-run stand with Gautam Gambhir (97) and finishing with a giant six, as India chased down Sri Lanka’s 274/6 to win by six wickets. India became the first team to win batting second in a final since Sri Lanka beat Australia by eight wickets in 1996.

Yuvraj Singh named Man Of The Series for his 370 and 15 wickets. Mahendra Singh Dhoni got Man of the match.

Players Matches Wickets Overs Mdns Runs Best Economy
Shahid Afridi (Pak) 8 21 74.3 4 270 5/16 3.62
Zaheer Khan (Ind) 9 21 81.3 4 394 3/20 4.83
Tim Southee (NZ) 8 18 72.2 7 312 3/13 3.90
M Muralitharan (SL) 9 15 71.0 2 291 4/25 4.09
Yuvraj Singh (IND) 9 15 75.0 5 377 5/31 4.16
RJ Peterson (SA) 7 15 56.0 5 236 4/12 4.02
Imran Tahir (SA) 5 14 39.3 2 150 4/38 3.90
Umar Gul (PAK) 7 14 52.3 4 203 3/30 4.22
KJR Roach (WI) 5 13 40.3 2 156 6/27 3.88
Harvir Baidwan (Can) 6 13 56.0 3 301 3/35 5.91
Players Matches Innings Runs Average St. Rate 100/50 Best
TM Dilshan (SL) 9 9 500 56.60 101.43 2/2 144
SR.Tendulkar [Ind] 8 8 464 64.80 100.30 2/3 120
K:Sangakkara [SL] 9 9 437 70.00 97.67 1/3 92
IJL Trott [Eng] 7 7 422 78.80 90.31 0/4 92
WU Tharnaga 8 8 393 64.50 88.35 2/1 133
Virendra Sehwag (Ind) 7 7 380 65.40 125.28 1/1 175
AB de Villiers (SA) 6 6 353 106.00 111.18 2/1 134
Yvi Singh 7 7 341 70.96 92.34 1/4 113
BJ Haddin [AUS] 7 7 342 70.00 97.67 0/3 94
Andrew Strauss (Eng) 7 7 334 59.60 99.66 1/1 158
RT Doeschate (NED) 6 6 309 106.00 89.24 2/1 119
H.Amla [SA] 7 7 306 70.00 97.67 0/2 92

Read Full Post »

Cricket craze

Indian Cricket fans are following peculiar Hair Styles to Wish India ALL THE BEST to win the world cup 2011.

So fans Wish Indian Team All the best to win the ICC World Cup.

Read Full Post »

Sachin Tendulkar celebrates his 50th Test century

Sachin Tendulkar became the first cricketer in history of Test Cricket to have scored 50 Test centuries. Sachin Tendulkar completed a historic 50th Test century against South Africa at the Centurion on 19th Dec 10

Sachin beats Sir Don in a poll

President Patil congratulates Tendulkar

President Pratibha Patil congratulated Sachin Tendulkar for his remarkable feat of scoring 50 Test hundreds in the ongoing first Test against South Africa in Centurion. Patil said it was a remarkable achievement which all the Indians should be proud of.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh hails Sachin

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Sunday congratulated Sachin Tendulkar for his “amazing achievement” of scoring 50 Test hundreds in the ongoing first Test against South Africa in Centurion. Singh also hoped that Tendulkar will continue to bring joy to “our countrymen” and wished more “such achievements” to him, a PMO spokesman said.

Vengsarkar: An outstanding milestone in history of cricket

Vishwanath hails Sachin

Former India batsman, Gundappa Viswanath, said Tendulkar’s ton on Sunday showed his keenness and calibre and added that he was also impressed by his running between the wickets.

Read Full Post »

Amit Enterprises Housing Ltd. has announced extensive growth plans and the signing of Sachin Tendulkar as its Brand Ambassador for the company. This is the first real estate brand endorsement for Sachin Tendulkar.


Read Full Post »

Sachin Tendulkar-ICC Cricketer of the Year

India’s cricketing icon Sachin Tendulkar was named Cricketer of the Year at the prestigious ICC Awards, held at a glittering ceremony in Bengaluru. During the voting period, the 37-year-old from Mumbai played in 10 Test matches, striking 1,064 runs, including six centuries, at an average of 81.84. Tendulkar also played in 17 ODI matches in the time, smashing his way to 914 runs at an average 65.28 in a period that also included the master batsman’s record-breaking double-century against South Africa in Gwalior.

Tendulkar was also named as the first recipient of the inaugural LG People’s Choice Award and was named in both the Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

Virender Sehwag-the ICC Test Player of the Year


Virender Sehwag-the ICC Test Player of the Year


India dashing batsman Virender Sehwag has won the ICC Test Player of the Year. During the 12-month voting period, Sehwag put in some remarkable performances with the bat, making 1,282 runs with an impressive average of 85.46 in the 10 Test matches he played. He scored six centuries and four half-centuries during the period.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is named as captain of the team

India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni is named as captain of the team as he was for the ICC World Test Team of the Year 2009. Members of the team are: Virender Sehwag (Ind), Simon Katich (Aus), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Jacques Kallis (SA), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, captain and wicketkeeper), Graeme Swann (Eng), James Anderson (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), Doug Bollinger (Aus).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Read Full Post »